NASA announced the four astronauts who will be flying to the moon by the end of next year, one woman and three men, during a ceremony from Houston. The crew will be the first to fly NASA’s Orion capsule, which will launch atop a Space Launch System rocket from Kennedy Space Center no earlier than late 2024. The astronauts will not land or go into lunar orbit but will fly around the moon and head straight back to Earth as a prelude to a lunar landing by two others a year later. The mission’s commander, Reid Wiseman, will be joined by Victor Glover, an African American naval aviator; Christina Koch, who holds the world record for the longest spaceflight by a woman; and Canada’s Jeremy Hansen. All are space veterans except Hansen. This is the first crew in NASA’s new moon program named Artemis, and the first moon crew to include a woman and someone not from the U.S. A model of the Orion capsule and the service module is displayed at the Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Fla., on Friday, Nov. 16, 2018. Provided this next 10-day moonshot goes well, NASA aims to land two astronauts on the moon by 2025 or so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *